2024 | National Crossing Safety

During Rail Safety Week 2024, TrackSAFE will host an online session to share progress of a number of railway crossing safety projects. This session is relevant for rail stakeholders, government, researchers and members of the community.

Thursday 8 August 2024 | 1.00-2.30pm (AEST) via TEAMS.

More information on the program to come. Visit Knowledgeshares on our website for updates, including links to join.

TrackSAFE will not host an in-person event this year.

2022 | National Level Crossing Safety Forum

The 2022 Forum, held on 8-9 August in Sydney aimed to collect information of relevance to the key elements of the new National Level Crossing Safety Strategy for consideration by the National Level Crossing Safety Committee.  The content and discussions will be of interest to regulators, government policy makers, state level crossing committee members, academics, safety technology developers and providers and rail industry representatives.

The TrackSAFE Foundation thanks Transport for NSW, the Office of the Rail Safety Regulator, the National Heavy Vehicle Regulator and Rail Safety Systems for supporting the 2022 Forum. A copy of the 2022 Program is available here, with presentations below.

Presentations available

Neil Scales OBE, Chair, National Level Crossing Safety Committee OBE
Sue McCarrey, Office of the National Rail Safety Regulator
Angus Mitchell, Australian Transport Safety Bureau
Sal Petroccitto, National Heavy Vehicle Regulator
Gemma Read, University of the Sunshine Coast
Madhavi Shankarling & Tayla Hallett, Transport for NSW
Dagmar Parsons & Peter Feder, Rail Safety Systems, Steve Dawkins, Acmena
Alia Karaman & Sarah Rosewell, Transport for NSW
Nick Hughes, Rio Tinto
Peter Frazer OAM, Safer Australian Roads And Highways

Madeline Bott, Level Crossing Safety Advocate
Gabby O’Neill, National Office of Road Safety
Bernard Carlon, Transport for NSW & Inspector Kelly Wixx, NSW Police
Lucia Brisolla, Department of Transport, Victoria
Summary of working group outcomes